Home » Entertainment

2022 NAACP Image Awards: Wizkid, Fireboy, Tiwa Savage Make Nominee List [See Full List]

Nigerian superstars, Wizkid, Fireboy and Tiwa Savage are competing against their internation counterparts at this years edition of the “NAACP Image Awards”.

The organisers released the list on Tuesday 18th of January, 2022.

NAACP Image Awards highlights the achievements black entertainers across television, music, literature and film, and the promotion of social justice through their creative endeavors.

Wizkid’s “Essence” got him a nomination under the “Outsanding International Song” category. Tiwa Savage bagged her nomiation with “Somebody’s Son”; Fireboy with “Peru”; Omah Lay with “Understand” and Ghana’s KiDi with “Touch It”.

See full list of the Recording Categories below.

Outstanding New Artist
• Cynthia Erivo
• Jimmie Allen
• Saweetie
• Tems
• Zoe Wees

Outstanding Male Artist
• Anthony Hamilton
• Drake
• Givēon
• J. Cole
• Lil Nas X

Outstanding Female Artist
• H.E.R
• Ari Lennox
• Beyoncé
• Chlöe
• Jazmine Sullivan

Outstanding Gospel/Christian Album
• Anthems & Glory – Todd Dulaney
• Believe For It – CeCe Winans
• Jonny x Mali: Live in L.A. – Jonathan McReynolds and Mali Music
• Overcomer – Tamela Mann
• Power – Jason McGee & The Choir

Outstanding International Song
• “Essence” – Wizkid feat. Tems and Justin Bieber
• “Peru” – Fireboy DML
• “Somebody’s Son” – Tiwa Savage feat. Brandy
• “Touch It” – KiDi
• “Understand” – Omah Lay

Outstanding Music Video/Visual Album
• “Best Friend” – Saweetie feat. Doja Cat
• “Essence” – Wizkid feat. Tems
• “Fye Fye” – Tobe Nwigwe feat. Fat Nwigwe
• “Have Mercy” – Chlöe
• “Leave The Door Open” – Silk Sonic

Outstanding Album
• An Evening with Silk Sonic – Silk Sonic
• Back of My Mind – H.E.R.
• Certified Lover Boy – Drake
• Heaux Tales – Jazmine Sullivan
• When It’s All Said and Done… Take Time – Givēon

Outstanding Soundtrack/Compilation Album
• Coming 2 America (Amazon Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) – Eddie Murphy, Craig Brewer, Kevin Misher, Randy Spendlove, Jeff Harleston, Brittney Ramsdell
• Judas and the Black Messiah (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) – Mark Isham and Craig Harris
Respect (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) – Jason Michael Webb and Stephen Bray
• The Harder They Fall (The Motion Picture Soundtrack) – JAY-Z and Jeymes Samuel
• The United States vs. Billie Holiday (Music from the Motion Picture) – Salaam Remi, Andra Day, Raphael Saadiq, Warren “E” Felder, Downtown Trevor Brown

Outstanding Gospel/Christian Song
• “Believe For It” – CeCe Winans
• “Help Me” – Tamela Mann feat. The Fellas
• “Hold Us Together (Hope Mix)” – H.E.R. and Tauren Wells
• “Overcome 2021” – Kirk Franklin
• “Time for Reparations” – Sounds of Blackness

Outstanding Jazz Album – Instrumental
• Forever…Jaz – Jazmin Ghent
• Love Languages – Nathan Mitchell
• Somewhere Different – Brandee Younger
• Sounds from the Ancestors – Kenny Garrett
• The Magic of Now – Orrin Evans

Outstanding Jazz Album – Vocal
• Dear Love – Jazzmeia Horn and Her Noble Force
• Generations – The Baylor Project
• Ledisi Sings Nina – Ledisi
• Let There Be Love – Freda Payne
• SALSWING! – Rubén Blades y Roberto Delgado & Orquesta

Outstanding Soul/R&B Song
• “Damage” – H.E.R.
• “Be Alive” – Beyoncé
• “Have Mercy” – Chlöe
• “Leave The Door Open” – Silk Sonic
• “Pick Up Your Feelings” – Jazmine Sullivan

Outstanding Hip Hop/Rap Song
• “Best Friend” – Saweetie feat. Doja Cat
• “Fye Fye” – Tobe Nwigwe feat. Fat Nwigwe
• “Industry Baby” – Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
• “My Life” – J. Cole feat. 21 Savage and Morray
• “Way 2 Sexy” – Drake

Outstanding Duo, Group or Collaboration (Traditional)
• Anthony Hamilton feat. Jennifer Hudson – “Superstar”
• Chlöe x Halle – “Georgia On My Mind”
• Jazmine Sullivan feat. H.E.R. – “Girl Like Me”
• Leela James feat. Anthony Hamilton – “Complicated (Remix)”
• Silk Sonic – “Leave the Door Open”

Outstanding Duo, Group or Collaboration (Contemporary)
• Chris Brown feat. Young Thug, Future, Lil Durk and Latto – “Go Crazy (Remix)”
• Doja Cat feat. SZA – “Kiss Me More”
• Drake feat. Future & Young Thug – “Way 2 Sexy”
• H.E.R. feat. Chris Brown – “Come Through”
• Tobe Nwigwe feat. Fat Nwigwe – “Fye Fye”

About Exclusivebase 4310 Articles
Sheynex is an Upcoming Philosopher, An Editor, News Writer, and Content Creator at Exclusivebase.com.ng. 🌠 Call/Whatsapp: 08076938557

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.